Just Keep Cutting

IMG_2089Picture a rainy Saturday afternoon; most people would like to be curled up on the couch, watching movies, relaxing, reading a book, but not I!  I spent the entirety of my Saturday  cutting t-shirts and interfacing, ironing interfacing onto shirts and then cutting said shirts into 16×16 inch squares.  This process was incredibly draining, tedious, and frustrating.  I must say that although incredibly time-consuming, once a rhythm was established, it became a much easier task.  I will also admit that I definitely enlisted some help this time around as the task would have taken probably double if I have stubbornly admitted to tackling the task all by myself.  My mom came to the rescue, helping me iron the

IMG_2090
My  Little Helper

interfacing, while I sat and cut the shirts into the appropriate sizes.  It was actually enjoyable with her help as I got to catch up with my mom and be productive at the same time.  She was very helpful, and I would honestly has been a great resource up to this point!  It’s been a rather smooth process.

Once I finished cutting out all 30 shirts, I began the real fun part!  Organizing and laying out my pieces.  I was so excited to finally have an image in my head of what it will look like as a finished product!  I laid them all out and then began moving the squares around until I finally settled on my placement.  I may still change a couple of pieces but overall, I like it!  What do you guys think??  Any suggestions!?  My goal was to spread out the brighter coloured ones as well as make sure I had at least one white, black and grey one in a row or in an area so it doesn’t look too dark.

IMG_2094

In the process, I ended up kicking out a couple of shirts and replacing them with shirts I either forgot to cut and really wanted on the quilt, or one shirt that is very awkward to cut, so alas I will need to cut and iron three more shirts! I will end up actually cutting it at the side (under the arm) of the shirt, and placing a patch of the front of the shirt in the middle of the square.

My next task will be buying the flannel of choice for the squares and the backing!  I will probably need to make a trip to Regina to buy the flannel as Moose Jaw only has one store, Quilter’s Haven and I’m not sure on the amount of options they will carry and I will not have time to order some online.  Fabricland perhaps?  Does anyone know any other places to buy fabric in Regina?

6 thoughts on “Just Keep Cutting

  1. This looks awesome! Imagine that would have been a tonne of work! I like the idea of saving the old t-shirts that have a meaning to you. I think that fabricland is the place to go. As far as I know, it is on Dewdney Avenue. Good luck and good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey that looks great! And you’re even doing interfacing- I just did some on my project today, it really was a bit tedious. I love your little cat hanging out with you sewing. Looking forward to seeing it once you get sewing!

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Beginning of My New Sewing Career – The Secret Life Of a High School Teacher

Leave a comment