Intro to EC&I 832

Hi everyone and welcome to my blog!!

tumblr_inline_niqsekhbjx1qgt12i (1)

I am so excited for another semester and become one step closer to completing my Master’s in Curriculum and Instruction.  I’m now on course number eight and I am anxious to be done!!  This is also my fourth course with Alec, and I’m looking forward to learning more about digital citizenship and integrating technology in my classroom.  I find these classes super applicable to my classroom and I’m hoping to find some more tools and resources to use in my classroom this semester.

I currently teach at Central Collegiate in Moose Jaw, and am in my seventh year of Mileeteaching.  I’ve taught many different courses over the years, and have finally settled into my chosen path of senior English and Math.  Currently, I am teaching grade 11/12 English, and Calculus.  Second semester is just around the corner and I will begin helping my Calculus students transition to AP Calculus and help them study and get ready for their AP exam in May.  As well as teaching, I help coach the senior girls basketball team and coach track and field in the spring.

This past summer, my boyfriend and I adopted the sweetest chocolate lab puppy named Milee (like Cyrus).  We also have a three year old cat, Jax.  The two are slowly warming up to one another every day so stay posted for updates on their friendship.  In my free time, I love reading and doing anything athletic, including ultimate frisbee, basketball, and weight lifting.  Our summers are Milee and Jaxusually spent camping, hiking and biking all over the place.  We already have our camping spot booked in Lake Louise this summer!

I’m really looking forward to this semester because I always enjoy learning from Alec as well as the atmosphere that is created in his classes.  I look forward to learning from and all of you as well!!  The community that is built is something I have never experienced in other online classes.  I am hoping this course gives me more information and ideas for teaching digital citizenship in my classroom as well as incorporating more appropriate online techniques in my classes.

Looking forward to learning with you all!

Shelby

Leave a comment