Distance Education Round Two?

This semester, we have been exposed to many new tools as well as a lot of history of educational technology.  Teaching in a pandemic has not been easy; there have been a lot of ups and downs, especially when I think back to the spring and our stint of supplemental learning.  I felt like I was decently prepared for it, given my knowledge of tech tools, and my students trusted me to pull off the transition.  However, it was still rocky.  Engaging students in an online format, when they had already been given the green light to move onto the next level was difficult.  I lost a lot of students and the few that stuck around preferred to do it mostly on their own.  I was left feeling pretty unfulfilled and missing my students as I continued to post projects, videos, and schedule meetings with little turnout.  I was so excited to get back to the classroom and back to teaching my students face-to-face and thankfully we haven’t had too many hiccups yet!

However, when we got back to teaching face-to-face, a lot of things had to transform to hybrid models of teaching.  I was really excited for this opportunity to integrate more tools and tech into my everyday teaching because we had to be prepared to go online at a moment’s notice.  Having an online platform set up also allowed students who have to miss school for a few days due to illness or covid testing to stay caught up on classwork.  I have been using Google Classroom as my platform to keep students organized and so far, it has been working wonderfully.  It allows students to submit work, ask questions, and stay caught up on all the things going on in the classroom.

Along with using Google Classroom to connect my students, we have been using lots of other tools like Remind, Flipgrid, iMovie, Google Docs, Slides and Forms, and occasionally Zoom.  These tools work great for my ELA classes because they allow students to connect in a variety of ways.  Remind allows them to send messages and pictures so I can help them out with assignment issues or they can notify me in a quick way that they are missing class.  Flipgrid has been great for creating discussion about novels, stories, and other topics we cover in class.  It also gives me an opportunity to see their speaking and presentation skills without a mask on!  The other tools have been great for creative assignments and presentations.  It’s awesome that students are able to collaborate in real time on the projects without needing to be together.  Zoom came in especially handy this week as I was out sick for a few days.  I was able to teach from home and zoom into my classroom to teach my students, answer questions and still be present.  It definitely isn’t the same as being there, but being able to talk to them through a scene, assign and grade projects through Google Classroom and send messages through Remind made it much easier for them and for myself to stay connected to each other.

Being out sick also gave me the opportunity to really reflect on this week’s blog prompt and what I would do if we must suddenly move to an online format.  I think if I were to move to an online or blended format, I could see myself using Nearpod and Pear Deck to organize lessons.  We have had presentations using these tools in the last couple of weeks and they seem both easy to use and engaging for the audience.  I love that students can follow along on their own screen or access the presentation to go through at another time, at their own pace.  This gives the option to teach using both synchronous and asynchronous means and giving student more freedom to access content.  As Jennifer Gonzalez said in her blog post about distance learning, “when we are kept apart from one another for whatever reason, our need for human interaction increases. So if you’re teaching a distance learning course that was set up that way to begin with, it’s important to build in structures to keep students interacting with each other and with you.”  This idea is something I both lacked in the spring and crave if we ever go back online again.  Keeping up engagement is important and I think by using tools like Zoom and Flipgrid, I could continue to engage students in those interactions.

One tool from this week that really intrigued me is Planboard.  I have never heard of it but by the sounds of it, it would be an excellent tool to use for staying organized in the online world.  In the spring, I used Google Classroom to schedule my days and it worked okay, but I needed something a little more structured.  Planboard looks like it would do this for me!  It looks like a Type-A personality’s dream and I am looking forward to exploring this tool further!! 

I think my most difficult task in the spring was preparing my AP Calculus students for their exam.  How does one teach an advanced level math course as well as run practice exams via online supplemental learning? Not easily, I admit.  The amount of work that went into developing the lessons, quizzes, practice questions, and zoom sessions was easily triple the amount of work I normally did to prepare face-to-face.  So, going online and teaching math again is my living nightmare.  I have had a prep this block, and all I have done in that prep is make lesson videos for my Calculus students just in case we have to go online in the block system.

When I think about my math courses, I prep them in an entirely different way than my ELA courses.  I have been using SmartNotes to create my notes for years, and then I use Screencastify to record my own videos.  I began using DeltaMath in the spring and I know if we end up online again, I will be using this awesome tool to create quizzes and formative checks.  I am also looking forward to checking out Explain Everything to see if it can cut some of my prep time in half.  Desmos and Khan Academy are also a great help for my math courses and for giving students an opportunity to explore the subject on their own.  Overall, when I think about teaching math online again, I know that engagement is key and if there is a way to do group problem solving over Google Docs or Zoom breakout rooms, I am going to do it.

If online learning does happen again, I’m going to take some advice from Jennifer Gonzalez first: “treat the beginning of the shift the same way you’d treat the beginning of a school year, by establishing routines and protocols before digging deeply into content, and giving extra energy to rekindling culture and relationships on the new platform even if they were already established in the face-to-face setting.” Once those routines and relationships are built, it comes down to remembering to go with the flow and as we talked in class on Tuesday, keeping a growth mindset is vital!

Until next time,

Shelby

12 thoughts on “Distance Education Round Two?

  1. Thanks for sharing your perspective! I think it’s really cool that you’re following a hybrid model. Since your students are already using online tools and platforms, if you ever had to move completely online, it would be an easier transition! I’m really glad that you were able to learn a new tool from last week’s presentation. I love using Planboard because it keeps everything organized without formatting everything yourself! It’s also nice because you can link assignments from Google Drive or outcomes from the Planboard database. I really enjoyed reading about your experience so far this year. Thanks for a great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many great points you have made and I love your honesty about your experiences. I do have one question, you taught your class from home when you were sick? Was this a choice of yours or an expectation from your admin? Either way, that’s dedication but one I hope you don’t have to continue.
    I agree with your statement about the rocky road in the spring even though you are comfortable with technology integration. That experience was very abrupt and the “green light” didn’t make it any easier for the hard work teachers put in with very little engagement overall.
    I also like how you pulled in relevant quotes from Jennifer Gonzalez with regard to building interactive structures and treating this new learning environment as though it’s the first day. Online teaching is not an exact replacement for what we deliver in person and the differences to these delivery models need to be a prioritized aspect to consider. My only worry for high school teachers, such as yourself, is that with the short, intense course delivery model already in place, you don’t have a whole lot of time to treat it like it your first day with routines/structure as you have a lot of course material to get through in a condensed time frame. It sounds like you’re already preparing well for this potential situation, and I admire that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Daina! Thanks so much for your comments and your question. Me working from home was my decision, since I was stuck at home until I could either get a test done or be 48 hour symptom free. Our division has put in place a “work from home” plan where teachers have the option to do so if they feel okay and want to teach from home while quarantined or awaiting test results. It allowed me to keep in touch with my students and also not use up sick time. I also totally agree with your comment about not having a lot of time to set up those routines and structures in a block system. We finish our first block on Wednesday, and I can’t believe how much I’ve taught already. It’s very fast and I really hope we can avoid having to do that all online, because it will be incredibly difficult!

      Like

  3. Melinda

    Hi Shelby,
    Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I can relate to you 100%. Just like you, I find this time very stressful. I absolutely see the benefit of asynchronous-, and synchronous learning going hand in hand, I also see, as you mentioned, how time consuming it is to create recordings. Every week I spend one chunk of my prep time (40 min) just to book devices for my students for the following week. Right now I am focusing on helping them become familiar with accessing Microsoft Teams, so I can reach them in case we have to switch to online learning. I am just praying not to run out of time…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post Shelby. Your growth mindset continues to serve you well. Not only does it appear that you understand how to use the tools (the ins and outs of the apps), but you understand how to use the tools (to provide students with effective ways in which to learn). Being able to maintain student engagement is critical but it looks like you have built the relationships and the skill sets necessary to succeed no matter what life may throw at us.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. teachertremblay

    Shelby,

    Such a relatable post! AP calculus already sounds terrifying enough, I can’t imagine what you went through trying to prepare your students this past spring. Although time consuming, I think you are making a good call by preparing videos ahead of time! I’m with you on using Pear Deck or Nearpod. I always felt so tech-savvy putting together slideshows for my students… Little did I know, there’s yet another way to make slideshows just that much more engaging!

    I love the idea of group problem solving! Honestly, I think that is what my students are missing most this year– teamwork and collaborating together. Getting the kids together on a video chat to work in a group would be so exciting in the event that we need to shift to online… It would be just like old times… Almost. Definitely keeping that idea in mind!

    A growth mindset and being flexible is absolutely key! Although these are crazy times, without them, I never would have learned about these new tools or have taken the risk to implement any of them in my teaching!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Leigh! I completely agree! I thought I was super techy with my powerpoints. Guess it’s time to upgrade again (LOL)! Students definitely need teamwork and it was something I was missing in the spring too. We will have to keep bouncing ideas off of each other…but for now, let’s hope it just doesn’t come to that again! 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: Online Tools, Tips, and Tidbits – Dean Vendramin's Blog

  7. I have to admit that I am in awe of your math capabilities. I struggled with Math in High School so the fact that you teach it, and can help students progress is really amazing. Now layer on the fact that you had to teach online, and now manage a hybrid model! Wow. I agree with Dean, it is refreshing to read your positive approach and how you clearly have a growth mindset. And thanks for the tips on additional math resources, I can’t help my son with his Grade 10 math homework, but I try to point him to new resources like these to keep him engaged.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment Nancy! I appreciate it! 🙂 I would highly recommend Delta Math to him and maybe even apps like Photomath or Wolfram Alpha. Both help solve problems but also give you the steps in the solution which can help show mistakes and explains the reasoning.

      Like

  8. Thanks for sharing your personal experiences! I too felt that lots of my students either didn’t participate or if they did, they did it on their own. It was challenging for some due lack of devices and some it was even challenging to get their parents to borrow a device from the school. When you Zoomed into your classroom was their a sub present in the class with your students or did they follow along with just you on the screen?

    Like

Leave a comment