The Planning is Coming Together!

Hi all!  This week, I put more work into my major project and it is slowly taking shape.  If you need a refresher on what I’ve been up to, check out this blog post.  Basically, I have been planning and using my grade 12s as guinea pigs this semester and the results are almost in!!  I’ve now started putting the pieces together in a formal document for my unit plan, outcome connections, and big questions.  It’s not quite finished, as there are a few attachments I am still working on, but for now, here is my unit outline!

My next steps will be to finish the handouts and videos, and ask a few of my amazing students if I can use their projects as samples!  I will also be creating a resource page for all the sources I have used throughout this project, as well as additional sources I found useful in my hunt for activities and strategies I used.

My original plan was to create a Google Classroom with all the documents, handouts, videos, etc.  but I’m not sure if this is still the route I want to choose. I really love using Google Classroom, but I’m wondering if others would appreciate a working document instead?  Thoughts??

tumblr_inline_niqsekhbjx1qgt12i (1)

Thanks for checking in and stay tuned!

Shelby

8 thoughts on “The Planning is Coming Together!

  1. Matteo Di Muro

    Shelby, this is exciting news! I really like the idea of your major project. The students are lucky to have a teacher like you around! Definitely going to check back and see how it’s going!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. teachertremblay

    Shelby,

    As I read through this post, I clicked on your links to get a better idea of what you’ve been up to! Oh my goodness. If your unit plan outline is that meticulously organized, I can’t even imagine your classroom! I appreciate that you are working toward integrating your unit plan in such a way where you come back to these concepts throughout the semester to further reinforce their value. I can’t wait to see how it all comes together in the end!

    To answer your question, I like the idea of Google Classroom. Today, I spent some time exploring Google Classroom as a way to reach my students amid the COVID-19 school closures. From what I saw, I think this would be a simple, accessible, and organized way to keep all of your resources together. Although, a working document has its benefits as well! You can’t go wrong with either, but I think you have to evaluate what will work best for your planning and future use of the resource.

    Great work, Shelby!

    Like

  3. Dean Vendramin

    Great work.How much time will the unit / each lesson take? Love the way you organized your unit and thanks for sharing a great resource. It’s great that it will be student tested and examples shared (how do you get students permission to share… verbal consent?) Definitely will stay tuned.

    Like

    1. Hi Dean! Thanks for the feedback. I think I will have to add how long each plan will take. Good advice! As for the student examples, I actually had to message each group on my Remind 101 app last week and get their permission to share! We rushed to finish most of the presentations on Monday and well, chaos ensued shortly after so I messaged them last week. 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Common Sense Media – A Major Project Review – The Secret Life Of a High School Teacher

  5. Pingback: A Real Media Smarts Resource! – The Secret Life Of a High School Teacher

  6. Pingback: Major Project Finale – The Secret Life Of a High School Teacher

Leave a comment